Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 21st, 2010

So, since I’m stuck on the whole AF thing (again, AF is short for anthocyanin free),  just wanted to share one of the crosses that is part of an AF hybridization project. So with this particular cross,  my goal is to create a large green anthocyanin free gigantor S. minor looking type plant.   This is only step one in the process.   Last year, fellow grower  Mike Wang, lent me a Sarracenia minor var. okeefenokeensis that was going to flower.  I had some stored Sarracenia “Green Monster” pollen in the fridge that I used on it.  It gave me a few seeds this year and the below photo is a result of that cross.    Now comes the fun part. Yay for awesome geneticish type stuff! The plants below now have that recessive AF gene, and when crossed again with another AF plant, it should unlock some of that AF goodness!  I am also hoping some of the size from the Sarracenia minor var. okeefenokeensis would carry over.  It’s going to be a couple of years, but still a something to look forward to!

Sarracenia minor var. okeefenokeensis, x "Green Monster"[S. minor var. okeefenokeensis x S. “Green Monster”,  November 20, 2010]

Read Full Post »